Lemon and honey cordial

I have an abundance of lemons on my tree! I have never had so many lemons at my disposal in my life!! I’ve heard of people having so many they don’t know what to do with them all and now I’m one of those. So I began by juicing a few…no, a lot…and made some sorbet and cordial.

Over the years, I have made lemon cordial many times…the sort with almost as much sugar as lemon juice. These days I have quite an aversion to sugar so I decided to try my hand at making one with honey. WOW, it’s good! So much more refreshing than the sugary stuff from years past, and far more versatile. This stuff could be added to a cup of tea or just some hot water to help ease cold and flu symptoms…add a little ginger to aid with digestion. Mix it up with some soda water or ginger ale and add a few sprigs of fresh mint for a refreshing summer beverage. Mix with vodka or gin for an adult treat…

You could use the same method with any fruit juice you desire and you can add more or less honey depending on your tastes. I like mine to be not too sweet so you may find my quantities a little tart..the trick is to taste¬† the mix and add more honey if necessary. You’ll be amazed at just how simple this stuff is to make.

If stored in sterilised, airtight bottles, it will keep in the cupboard for a few months, otherwise, store in the fridge.

 

1 litre of fresh lemon juice

1  1/2 cups of honey

zest of 3 lemons

Mix all ingredients in a pot, bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer for an hour and a half. While still hot, pour into a bottle, allow to cool then store in the fridge.

Enjoy diluted according to personal taste.

IMG_6430

Leave a Reply

